In 1830, a small stone church was built on the outskirts of Kharkov in the Saburova Dacha. It was named in honor of St. Prince Aleksander Nevsky. By the end of the XIX century, the church couldn’t accommodate the growing community, and in 1900, Kharkov citizens sent to St. Petersburg a petition to build a new church. First, capital authorities refused the idea of a new church; however, in 1904 they came to an agreement regarding construction and allocated 20,000 rubles from the treasury. The church was designed by Kharkov architect Mikhail Lovtsov. In 1907, the construction and decoration of the sanctuary was completed. One of the most beautiful churches in the city with a capacity of about 1,000 worshipers was consecrated by Kharkov archbishop Arseny.
In 1920, the church was closed by the Soviet government, and ever since it was used as a hospital archive, then as a club and for other household needs.
In 1990, at the request of churchmen, the building was returned to the Kharkov diocese. In December of the same year, after 70 years of neglect, the church held its first Divine Liturgy. According to the Rector Petro Kozachkov, the building was in poor condition and a lot of efforts were put into its restoration. In 2004, in front of the church a public garden was laid out around a new monument to Aleksander Nevsky.
In December 6, 2007, Orthodox Kharkov citizens celebrated the centennial of the Aleksander Nevsky Church.
Nowadays, the church includes a library, Sunday school, sewing and carpentry workshop. Moreover, pilgrimages and festivals for children are often organized there.