Armenian Cathedral of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary is a historical and cultural monument, located in Lviv on the Armenian Street, 7-13. The ensemble of the temple is located in the historic district of the city, in the place, earlier settled by Armenians. The building of the cathedral is located in the center of the complex and is surrounded with the rest of the structures, forming three small patios.
The start of the construction of the cathedral dates back to the year 1363, so it is considered one of the oldest monuments of Lviv. The architect of the temple was Doring, and funds for the erection of the church were donated by two Armenian merchants, Jacob and Panos. The Armenians took part in the construction of the cathedral, because the church building has common features with the cathedral in Ani.
In the XVII century, during the forced Catholicism on the people of Western Ukraine, the Armenian archbishop was forced to sign a union. During Soviet times, Lviv Armenian Catholic Archbishopric was abolished, and the Armenian cathedral was closed. The building was handed for storage of the Lviv Art Gallery, and then – for storage of the Museum of Lenin. In early 2000, the cathedral was backed to the Armenian Apostolic Church, and January 6, 2001 it was held the first worship service. In 2003, 18 May, there was held a solemn consecration of the Cathedral by the Patriarch Catholicos Karekin-II. The event was attended by influential political figures, Armenians, and former Ukrainian president Leonid Kravchuk.
The ensemble of Armenian cathedral includes such masterpieces of architecture, as Bell Tower, the palace of the Armenian archbishops, decorative column with the depiction of the figure of St. Christopher, the buildings of the former Armenian monastery and the bank. The interior of the temple has Armenian motifs, murals and stained glass created by the artist Jan Rosen.