The wooden Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary was founded in Novosyolovka (Novomoskovsk district, Dnepropetrovsk region) in 1780. The construction was initiated by Zaporozhye Cossacks. The church from wood served its parish until 1930s. However, when soviet regime came to the country, the church, as well as most religious buildings at the time, was shut down by the Bolsheviks. During the World War II the church service was renewed and went on until the early 1960, when the local authorities ordered the church to be rebuilt into a gym.
In 1981 the building of the old church was decided to be ruined completely. Workers hired by the village council struggled to disassemble the wooden construction, but the granite base and the solid foundation were so hard that even bulldozer could not demolish it. For a few years the ruins were eroded by nature, until in 1985 a small church of the Archangel Gabriel was constructed on the old foundation. The church gradually grew older, which is why a new church was decided to be constructed in 2003. The area was immediately consecrated, and in 2008 the church walls were completed. Soon the first ever church service was held in the lower church of the Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary.
The two-altar church is decorated with mosaics on the outside and has an iconostasis inside. The walls and the ceiling of the new church are still being painted. The golden-domed church can be seen from afar, and the turquoise bells of the bell tower can be heard in miles from the church.
Architects have planned to install a memorial stand with names of all workers and builders who worked on the construction since the beginning.
Address of the Assumption church: Dnepropetrovsk region, Novomoskovsk district, Novosyolovka.