Assumption Church in Lviv is one of the architectural monuments of Renaissance XVI-XVII centuries. The architectural ensemble is situated on the Podvalnaya Street, 9, and is surrounded with the Orthodox community of the city, because the Assumption Church belongs to the Ukrainian Autonomous Orthodox Church.
The construction of the church was carried out largely due to significant financial donations from the Russian Tsar Feodor Ivanovich in 1592, which is resembled by the two-headed eagle, the symbol of Russia, which is located inside the church. In the middle of the XVI century in the Church of the Assumption there was Assumption fraternity with printing establishment and school.
The ensemble of the church consists of several monuments: the Chapel of the Three Saints, which was connected with the church only in the middle of the XIX century, the 65 meters high bell tower, built on money of K. Kornyakt.
The interior of the Assumption Church is decorated with paintings, survived from the XVII-XVIII centuries, the iconostasis, dating back to 1773 year, stained-glass windows by P. Kholodny, created in the 20th and 30th years of XX century.
The Assumption Church bears the stamp of the Italian Renaissance. At the top of the temple there are three domes with lanterns, walls are decorated with carved composition of biblical and evangelical subjects, the decorations in the form of columns and arches - all these innovations are the hallmarks of this style. After the fire in 1779 there miraculously survived some works of art in the church: icons of the Passion, the iconostasis, the fragments of easel painting, dating to the XVII century. The interior of the church has changed after the restoration works in 1965-1973, but it did not loose its original architectural features and charm.