Church of John the Baptist is one of the oldest architectural monuments of Lviv. It is located at the Old Market Square, 3. Once the cathedral belonged to the Catholic order of monks and then it was handed to the Armenians-Uniates.
There are two versions concerning the date of foundation of the temple. According to one of them, the cathedral was erected in 1250 (or 1270) by Prince Lev Danilovich. He built it for his wife Constanze, who was the daughter of King Bela IV.
According to another version, based on historical data, the church was erected in the middle of the XIV century, as indicated by the Gothic masonry, typical for this time, discovered under the layers of plaster.
The architecture of the cathedral has undergone significant changes after a large number of rebuildings. In the XVII and XVIII centuries there were added the side chapels, which changed the shape of the temple: it became cruciform. After the fire in 1800 the temple has remained empty for 36 years. After the restoration in 1887 by architect Julian Zakharevich the church got the Neo-Romanesque style. The courtyard was surrounded with a wall of bricks and a bell tower.
Currently, there is the Museum of the oldest monuments of Lviv in the church of John the Baptist. The decision to create the museum here was made after numerous archaeological excavations and studies, indicating that on-site construction of the church there was a settlement of the Slavs. The exposition of the museum includes a variety of archaeological finds, documents of historical significance, samples of fine art, religious finds, which present the living in the time of founding of Lviv. The most valuable exhibit of the museum is the icon “Lviv Mother of God” that was created in the middle of the XIV century and has miraculously survived up to nowadays.