German Lutheran Evangelical Church of St. Catherine located in Kiev in the Lypky district, was built in 1855-1857 under the project of the Lutheran architect Ivan Shtrom. Construction and interior decoration of the brick buildings were carried out by Pavel Shleifer. It was built on the initiative of German Lutheran settlers invited by Catherine II in 1720s. The founder of the Lutheran community in Kiev was Georg Bunge. First church services were conducted in his estate in 1767. The first church was made of wood and burnt down in a terrible fire that took place in Kiev in 1811. The second church was built during the war with Napoleon. To collect the money for the construction the church elders had to put up their own houses. The small light church was decorated with a portrait of Martin Luther and the icon of St. Paul.
The modern church, built in a simplified Gothic style on 22, Luteranska Street, was consecrated in 1857. The historian Zakrevsky in the "Description of Kiev" wrote that the church has a unique lightness and perfect acoustics, allowing the preacher’s voice to be heard clearly in every corner of the church. Nearby there was the Lutheran School where the pupils were taught the German language.
After 1917, a large and spacious building of the church was divided into several tiny rooms that were used as an atheist club, and then as the warehouses and the premises for the management of the Museum of Folk Architecture.
In 1998, the Church of St. Catherine was returned to Kiev Lutherans and reconstructed. Nowadays, there is an operating temple with a pipe organ and bells. Prominent relic of the temple is the painting "Representations of Christ to Thomas the Apostle" by outstanding artist Baer.