Church of the Saviour on Berestov is one of the oldest churches in Kiev. It is located north from the Kiev-Pechersk Lavra and is a part of the Historical Complex of World Heritage Sites.
Spaso-Preobrazhenska Church was built in the Byzantine technique with narrow bricks (plinfa), and the walls were decorated with pink mortar and bricks. Originally, the temple had three naves, four pillars, a porch on the west side and three altar ledges on the east side. Most likely, there was only one dome. One of the peculiar architectural elements was preserved porch, which was wider than the temple.
Delubrum was located in the northern part of the porch, and a spiral staircase that led to the choir was in the south side. Another feature of the church was narthex located on three sides of the shrine, with a rare three-lobed shape.
The church was painted right after the construction. Today, in the narthex the visitors can see the fresco "The Appearance of Christ at the Sea of Tiberias" (1113-1125). The distinguished painting is characterized by laconic manner, simple modeling, and predominant effect of contour pattern and local color patches, that reflect an ascetic movement in art.
In 1643, after the restoration the church was re-painted by Greek artists, who were invited by the Metropolitan Petro Mohyla.
During the period of restoration, the main altar of the Transfiguration was opened on the east side of the temple, the altar of Cosmas and Damian - on the south side, and an altar of St. Prince Vladimir – on the north. There is no iconostasis in the Church of the Savior on Berestov, although during the existence of the temple there were several of them.