Pavlograd is one of the leading industrial cities in Western Donbass region. The city is famous for its plants, and some of them used to produce strategic armor and missiles. However, culture and arts are not as developed as the industry there. The city only has a single theatre, which is the only theatre in four districts of the region.
The old building of Count’s theatre in Pavlograd was constructed in 1896, and money for construction was donated by Count Golenischev-Kutuzov. This is the reason why the theatre has the name of the Count. Until 1917 the theatre held regular performances. After the revolution of 1917 the theatre was used as a warehouse. In 1956 the building was given to the district Palace of Culture and its drama club. The members of the club became the people who founded the theatre of Boris Zakhava. For years since the theatre was opened, dozens of remarkable and talented actors have performed on its stage.
Since 1896 the building of the Count’s theatre was never thoroughly renovated, which is why it is now in an emergency condition. Actors continue working on stage, but there is always the threat of some kind of accident. Pavlograd officials have tried to start the reconstruction but have not succeeded yet. Actors decided to share the expenses and managed to renovate the dressing room, but there is no more money for complete renovation. The lack of experience in the renovation of the dressing room resulted in mold covering the walls.
Address of the Count’s theatre: Dnepropetrovsk region, Pavlograd, Kharkovskaya street, 65.