Dnepropetrovsk Circus was founded in the late XIX century. It was called Katerynoslav circus (the old name of Dnepropetrovsk is Yekaterinoslav). The circus was given the building that existed until 1929, built by the architect J. Truzzi.
1932 started its work the circus-tent which was destroyed during the Great Patriotic War. In 1959 in Dnepropetrovsk was opened a circus on the Schmidt street, which in the winter period was closed because the building was not heated. In 1980, the circus was moved to the center of the city, on the Lenin embankment. In the new building, designed by P. Nirinberga.
Since 1994, the general manager and artistic director of the circus is V. Brukhanskiy, an Honored Artist of Ukraine. Now Dnepropetrovsk circus is located in the new building, which stands out among the advantages of superb drawings with a domed vault, which creates excellent acoustics, and allows you to conveniently consolidate the suspension apparatus. During the construction of the Dnepropetrovsk circus a tent covering was used.
In a day time the Circus looks like a simple tent, and in the evening - a volcano erupts from the crater where are different beasts, illuminated by a backlight. This architectural innovation is the perfect advertisement for the circus. Another feature of the Dnepropetrovsk Circus that this is the only one in Ukraine that has a rehearsing-staging arena.