In 1754, the Empress Elizabeth gave her consent on the construction of the fortification on the banks of the river Ingul (on the territory of modern Kirovograd) along the southern boundary of the military settlements that were built for defense of Southern Ukraine against the attacks of Turks and Crimean Tatars.
The location of the fortress, named after Saint Elizabeth – holy patroness of the Empress - was chosen for a reason. It was situated on the same distance from the existing fortress on the Archangel, and cyanosis Mishurinorezhskoy on the Dnieper. And therefore, it formed a kind of defensive line of the three major fortifications. The space between them was protected by the Novoserbsky sconces and Cossack outposts.
The fortress was constructed in the form of six-rayed star with the projecting bastions and a deep graff filled with water. The earthworks were complemented by the wooden wall with three towers, armed with the heavy artillery. In the fort included three gates, surrounded by watchtowers and guardhouse - Troitskiy, the main gates, Prechistenskiy and Vsesvyatskiy. The drawings and interior design were created by the architect Wiest, while the construction of fortifications was supervised by the engineer-colonel Mentselius. The Major-General Glebov who became the first commandant of the fortress, was responsible for the general management.
In total, the construction of the fortification took 3 years. Simultaneously with the fortifications, the cathedral church, barracks, officers' houses and various outbuildings were erected. Fortress of Saint Elizabeth has played an important role in the Russian-Turkish war in 1768-1774. In January 1769, 70 000 Tatar-Turkish army, led by the Crimean Khan Krym-Giray, crossed the Russian border near the Orlovsky sconce. On January, 7 it stopped near the fortress of St. Elizabeth, where the province chief, Major-General A. Isakov, with garrison and local residents hided out.
Under a hail of cannon balls the Crimean Khan couldn’t continue the attack, while inconsiderable in number Russian armed forces were not able to put up the showdown fight. The Tartars divided into several groups, destroyed nearby villages, and capturing more than a thousand local residents and livestock, went beyond the Dniester.
Equestrians of I.Bagration who has made a sortie from the fortress, defeated the Tatar rear guard. After that, the Tartars no longer attacked the Ukraine. And after the forefront of the Russian empire shifted to the south, the fortress lost its strategic importance. For a long time it was used as a military base, and at the same time it laid the foundation of the city Elisavetgrad - now Kirovograd.
In 1794, the fortress was disarmed. The weapons were passed to the Kherson fortress, the construction of which was completed in 1787. In 1805, the fortress was dismantled. Nevertheless, today, everyone can see the buildings of the XVIII century. The city hospital № 1 is located on their territory. There is also a memorial of Eternal flame at a military cemetery. At the entrance to the territory of the fortress there are two cannons on the pedestals that present a unique monument to the Russian soldier’s heroism.