Gorky Park is a main park of Kharkov. The park takes up more than 130 ha. The original name of this park from its founding till 1919 was the Nikolaevsky Park or Country Park. In the years of 1920 — 1936 it bore a name of the Utility Park or the Park of Utility Providers and existed all the time as a city park.
The park was founded in 1893 and opened only in 1907, because it had been decided to wait until the trees in the park would grow up. Laying out the park was financed by voluntary contributions from citizens, planting the trees was carried out due to students and pupils of Kharkov’s gymnasiums.
At present the Gorky Park is a favourite resting-place of citizens. There are numerous attractions, a fountain and playgrounds for children, the Children’s Railway, a ropeway, tennis courts, cafes, a cinema “Park” and many other attributes for rest on its territory.
A solemn opening of the memorial to A.M. Gorky and the restored colonnade, demolished twice in the 90-ties and in 2001 by the city’s governor M. Pilipchuk, took place in 2006 on the occasion of celebrating the City Day. The fountain, located at the end of the main alley, was restored in 2007.
There are some interesting facts about the Gorky Park. The only cedar grove in Kharkov, destroyed in 1943, grew at this place before the Great Patriotic War. The parachute tower was also built there before the war, existed only until the middle sixties. At the beginning of the 70-ties the unique sound-and-light show hall was opened in the park, which fell to desolation at the beginning of the 90-ties.