Cathedral of the Intercession of Holy Virgin or Intercession Cathedral is located in Kharkov on the University Street, 8, and is the parish church in Kharkov Diocese of Ukrainian Orthodox Church, built in the name of Intercession of Holy Virgin.
Intercession Cathedral is the valuable monument of Ukrainian architecture of the second half of the XVII century, built in 1689 and consecrated this year by Metropolitan Abraham. It was built by the Cossacks outside the fortress near the northern side on the site of the former wooden church of the Intercession.
Intercession Cathedral is a baroque stone structure with three cupolas established in the traditions of Russian church architecture in the warm winter temple. The upper church is cold and surrounded with a gallery. The decoration are patterned brick frames and multi-eaves, rectangular hollows, located along the rim, decorated with images of the sun. The bell tower resembles a fortress tower, with harsh and severe forms.
In 1726 there was established male Holy Virgin Monastery with Kharkov Collegium at the Cathedral of the Intercession. It became the first higher education institution on the Left Bank. The initiation of its establishing belongs to the Bishop of Belgorod Epiphanius Tikhorskiy and Governor-General of Sloboda Ukraine Prince Mikhail Golitsyn. At the same time since 1729 the Church of the Intercession became monastic church; the building was renovated, decorated and provided with various church utensils.
From 1799 to 1846 Intercession Church became the Cathedral of Kharkov, in the XIX and XX centuries there have been actively working on its repair, improvement and decoration.
When Bolsheviks came to force, Intercession Cathedral was closed in 1920 and gradually began to deteriorate. 30 years later there were made attempts to repair it.
In 1992 Intercession Cathedral and the monastery complex were returned to the Ukrainian Orthodox Church.