Kiev Funicular is one of the symbols of Kiev. It is a popular transport that carries daily about 10-15 000 passengers. It should be noticed that the trip from the Poshtova Ploscha to the Mykhailivska Ploscha takes only 2-3 minutes. The funicular is open daily from 7:00 to 22:00, on weekends from 8:00 to 23:00.
It was constructed on the ascent from the Podil to the Upper City that made difficulties for the citizens of Kiev. Originally, the winding paths were laid out to the Mykhailivska Ploscha, then there were 500 wooden stair steps, but the development and expansion of the city required a reliable transportation in that area. So, the funicular was designed and built there as the only mode of transportation on a steep slope. The second funicular in the Russian Empire was opened in May 7, 1905. Construction of the funicular was conducted by the Belgian joint-stock company and cost 230,000 rubles. The length of the construction was 200 meters. The equipment was manufactured in Switzerland. Funicular cars had a seating capacity of 70 passengers and moved with a speed of 2 m/s. In 1928-1929, the construction was renovated: the length has increased to 38 meters and the height to 75 m. New cars were manufactured in the local electric plant. In 1958 and 1984-1986, several reconstructions were carried out.
Nowadays, the romantic silhouette of the funicular perfectly fits into the general panorama of the city, and it is hard to imagine them apart. There was a time when, after the capital was moved from Kharkov to Kiev, city authorities wanted to lay out on the site of the funicular the ceremonial staircase to the Lenin monument. Those plans were disrupted by the war. Fortunately, after the war, the funicular was renovated; the stations became more beautiful and modern, and the cars and machinery - more powerful.