Kitaev Monastery is an Orthodox monastery in Kiev, which was operating in the XVIII-XX centuries. In 1990, the monastery was rebuilt.
According to the documents, the history of the shrine goes back to 1716 when it was a popular place of pilgrimage. The most famous elders (startsi) of the monastery were Dositheus and Theophilus. In 1763-1768, Stepan Demyanov built in the monastery a monument in the Ukrainian Baroque style.
The monastery is known for its beautiful gardens and experienced gardeners. In 1860, near the monastery Bulgarian farm yard was built, where Archbishop Joseph Sokolsky laid out the vineyard.
In the late XIX century, an architectural ensemble of the monastery consisted of brick Trinity Church, 45-meter bell tower, the Church of the Twelve Apostles with the refectory and Three Russian saints - Peter, Alexis and Jonah. In 1898, a candle factory was opened there.
In 1920, the church was operating; however the monastery no longer belonged to the monks. The cells were used as a juvenile prison, while in the other premises agricultural institutions were opened. In 1930, the territory of the monastery was passed to the Research Institute of Fruit and Berry Growing. The bell tower was dismantled in 1932, and other buildings were severely damaged during the Second World War.
In 1990, after the restoration, the Trinity Church was placed under control of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church. In 1993-1994, after the archaeological research, the caves were equipped and the church of St. Dosifei was consecrated. In 1996, the monastery obtained an independent status.
Kitaev ashram is a beautiful sanctuary where the relics of the 12 Apostles have been preserved in the Church of the Twelve Apostles, as well as relics of saints Joachim and Anna, Zacharias and Elizabeth, and many other great saints.