Klovsky Palace was built in 1756 in baroque style. The palace was originally intended to accommodate members of the royal family during their visit to Kiev-Pechersk Lavra, although it was never used as intended. The royalty preferred to stay in the Mariyinsky Palace, despite the fact that it was constantly under repair and reconstruction.
The Klovsky Palace was named so due to its location in the Klov, the Kiev district, which previously belonged to Kiev-Pechersk Lavra, and now is the district of modern Kiev.
Klovsky palace had been built for over four years according to projects of three architects. The latter architect introduced elements of Ukrainian architecture and culture in the design of the palace. The painting of the interior dates back to the middle of the XVIII century, and has also the stamp of Ukrainian nationality.
The original project supposed only two floors; the third one was added already in the XIX century during the re-erection of Klovsky palace by order of Emperor Alexander II (in 1858 the palace was completely destroyed by fire). There were built two buildings on both sides of the palace at the same time, and the layout was completely changed.
Simultaneously with the construction of the palace there was planted the beautiful decorative park with lindens around it. The direct paths led from the park to the Dnieper. That’s why the district was called Lipki (Linden). However it was decided in 1833 to cut down the park for the design of new streets.
Though the palace has never been used as intended, afterwards it was the place for the printing establishment of Kiev-Pechersk Lavra, then - the military hospital, Kiev first men's gymnasium, the women's seminary. After the destruction of the palace during the Civil War and its reconstruction in 1930, there was located the Museum of History of Kiev. Since 2003 there has been located the Supreme Court of Ukraine, which started its work in this magnificent building and architectural monument in 2009 after its reconstruction and rebuilding.