Lychakiv Cemetery is not only one of the oldest cemeteries on the territory of modern Ukraine, but also historical and Memorial Museum-Reserve (this title was conferred the cemetery in 1991) located in the historical area of Lviv, Lychakiv.
The date of foundation of Lychakiv Cemetery is officially XVI century, but there is reason to believe that there were buried the victims of raging at the time of plague on this place still in the XIII century.
In 1783-1784 the Austrian Emperor Joseph II issues the decrees, according to which the churches were eliminated. On their place there are created four suburban cemeteries, among which only Lychakiv Cemetery remained up to nowadays, the oldest tombstone is dated 1786 year.
In Lychakiv necropolis there are located more than three thousand headstones and monuments, some of which were created by well-known sculptors and architects: S. Litvinenko, G. Kuznevich, P. Filipe, L. Marconi, P. et al Eutele.
On Lychakiv Cemetery rest many famous people, including representatives of Russophile movement in Galicia, some Ukrainian writers, historians, artists, composers and many others.
In 1974, in the north side of Lychakiv cemetery there was opened Marsovo Field, War Memorial, with buried 3800 soldiers who died in WWII and in the battles against the Nazi invaders. On the wall of the memorial there is a poetic inscription, which was liquidated in 1990, according to the order of city authorities: “In the middle of the planet in the thunder of clouds, the dead look in the sky, believing in the wisdom of living”.
Also at one part of Lychakiv cemetery on "Cemetery Defenders of Lviv” there is “Memorial of Lviv Eagles”, soldiers who fell during the Polish-Ukrainian war in battles with units WUNR.