The house was built in the late 16th century on the territory of the rampart (ancient Dytynets') by the Chernigov colonel Lyzogub. After his death the house belonged to the hetman and philanthropist Ivan Mazepa. In the early 18th century Mazepa house in was given to the Cossack Chernigov regiment.
The house is an architectural monument. In the construction were used architecture elements that are wide spread in architecture of Chernigov region. At the moment Mazepa house is almost the single sample of residential architecture that was preserved in its initial form.
Full restoration of the house was done in 1954 - 1969.