Monument to Prince Vladimir, also known as the Monument to Vladimir the Great, is located in the park "Vladimir Hill" (Vladimirskaya Gorka) and is one of the oldest sculptural monuments of Kiev and the symbol of this city. The first mention of the monument dates back to 1829, and the construction lasted from 1829 to 1834. The major renovation of the monument dates back to 2002-2003.
Originally on the place of the monument to Prince Vladimir there were situated the vineyards of St. Michael Cathedral, but due to numerous landslides there was made the decision to create the park on this place.
According to legend, it is on "Vladimir Hill" Prince Vladimir baptized Rus, so park got such a name. To perpetuate the sacred place, it was decided to build a monument in honor of this important historic and religious event.
The monument itself and the park strike the imagination with its grandeur and beauty: monument is skillfully created, the park is beautifully cared, it has the beautiful panoramic view of the city and is located in one of the most picturesque places in Kiev and is one of the favorite recreational place for visitors and citizens of the capital of Ukraine.