After the death of Mikhail Semenovich Vorontsov the Count M.D. Tolstoy has made an offer to open the monument to His Serene Highness. The idea was endorsed by the Emperor Alexander II, who first made a donation of his personal funds for the erection of the monument. After that, the fund for the erection of the monument began to receive funds from the citizens of the Russian Empire: the amounts were quite different from a few rubles to several thousands.
The sculptor was Frederick Brugger, who personally attended the Cathedral Square at the opening ceremony of the monument. When creating the sculpture of the prince, he focused on the portrait of Vorontsov 1853, painted by Franz Krueger. According to contemporaries, the sculptor has made a striking resemblance.
The pedestal of the monument was made of solid rock that was mined in the Crimea. It was spent a lot of effort for the transportation of stone blocks: they have been dragged to the sea coast for three months; the sea transportation was complicated by the storm; the barge with rocks was pulled by the steamship, which was specially hired by the Russian Society of the ship and trade.
Finally, the monument to General Field Marshal, Serene Prince Mikhail Semenovich Vorontsov, Governor-General of the Novorossiysk region and the region of Bessarabia, was opened in Odessa on Nov. 9, 1863. The ceremony was attended by a large number of residents and visitors to the city; there was held a divine service, there was pronounced eulogy, the festival ended with fireworks.