Officers' Assembly is the current house of fleet officers.
It’s located on Artillery Street, 7.
The two-storey building was completely built in the XIX century on the orders of Admiral Alexis Greig. He was the chief commander of the Black Sea fleet and ports, as well as the military governor of Sevastopol and Nikolaev, as the House of commanders and flagships.
The building with two wings, which have been preserved to this day, had one area and created the single architectural complex, typical for the unusual style of classicism.
The huge hall of the House has been fully provided for use for the Noble Assembly, which was founded in 1820. In fact, from its inception, the house of officers and flagships played the role of the certain club for every officer-sailor, as well as for their families, and eventually became the name of the “winter marine assembly”. There were held balls, receptions, concerts, lectures, family and dancing evenings, as well as it was the place for the school of singers and musicians, cadet classes, library.
This House placed the solemn reception, dedicated to the 100th anniversary of founding of the city of Nikolaev. In 1924, during the Soviet time, the building became the House of culture of seamen, and only later, in the postwar years, it became the status of House of fleet officers and the center of culture, recreation and education of the Ukrainian Navy.
To save the unique and unusual monument of architecture, the building requires to be repaired and complete renovated. Nowadays the Nikolaev Giprograd has already developed the project of reconstruction of the building.