The Park of Eternal Glory, located in the Pechersk district of Kiev, more than 50 years ago was called the Anosov Garden. Now on its territory there is a memorial complex “Park of Eternal Glory to the soldiers of the Great Patriotic War”, in the center of which there is an obelisk of Glory with the height of 26 meters, at the foot of which there lies the tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Near the obelisk there is the eternal flame, surrounded with a bronze wreath. It calls to resemble the great feat of the Soviet defenders during the Great Patriotic War.
The foundation of the park is attributed to the general Anosov, who decided to create the park on the deserted wasteland and make it a place of rest for the youth. In 1894 there appeared the first alleys, beds, bridges, pavilions, fountain. For kids there were made sandboxes and carousels, for the young people - sports town. Every evening in the summerhouse of the park played orchestra that attracted the attention of the townspeople and made the park one of the favorite places for recreation.
With the beginning of the Civil War the atmosphere of the park has changed dramatically: it is believed that on outskirts of the park Bolsheviks shot the Metropolitan Vladimir and Ukrainian poets Chumak and Michailychenko.
During the Great Patriotic War, the park was badly damaged: on its foot there were dropped dozens of headstones and monuments, it has become a place of mourning for the dead. Therefore, in 1957 it was decided to divide the Park: on the former Anosov Garden there is a Park of Eternal Glory to the soldiers of the Great Patriotic War, which is today a historic landmark in Kiev.