The word “passage” means “roofed gallery with a number of stores which have access to the parallel streets”. At the beginning of last century there were about a dozen passages in Odessa, nowadays most of them are no longer valid.
One of the most famous passages, Fruit, was built in 1912 and is located at the market “Privoz”. Passage is 4 2-storey buildings, in the cellars of which after its construction there were stored fruits, filling the air around the passage with a wonderful aroma. Now the building is surrounded with fence and is in poor condition. One can only hope that city officials are preparing it for restoration, but not for demolition.
Another passage, built in 1912-1914, is located on the Richelieu Street, 16. On the ground floor there commercial spaces, inside there is a huge hall, right and left there stretch counters. In the passage there is an elevator and stairs to go to different floors. In 1921, this passage placed the industrial exhibition, and in the late 30-ies of the XX century - the Museum of the Revolution.
Petrokokino, shop-passage outside of Greece Street, 26, was erected in 1896. Three-storey passage, with a roof, protecting from the bad weather, astonished with its sections in 3 floors beneath a glass roof. Making the turn, Petrokokino went to the Richelieu Street; on the ground floor of this turn there was located the grocery store, and in 1940 – the glass basin with fish, which can be bought. Passage did not preserve up to nowadays, being destroyed during the Great Patriotic War.
The most famous passage in Odessa is located in the heart of the city. It was built in 1899 and has two entrances: from Deribasovskaya and Preobrazhenskaya Streets. Each entrance is decorated with two statues: Fortune on the ship and Mercury on the train. Beautiful dome towering above the corner was destroyed in 1901 by fire, which also destroyed two figures at the entrance to Preobrazhenskaya Street.
Inside Passage is decorated with beautiful sculptures. The roof above crossing is of the glass.