Bridge named after E.O. Paton, which is pedestrian, automobile and tram until 2004, longer than 1.5 km (the length of the bridge is more than Khreshchatyk Street) was opened in the middle of XX century, in 1953.
Being the part of the small circular highway and one of the many bridges across the Dnieper River, the bridge Paton is known worldwide as the first all-welded bridge. The bridge Paton as technological monument of the epoch was assigned a memorial sign, which was later brought to Kiev, by the American Society of welders. Besides, on this bridge for the first time in the Soviet Union was installed the semi-rigid enclosure to increase the safety of drivers, passengers and pedestrians. The width of the carriageway of the bridge is 21 meters, width of sidewalks - 3 m. In 2009, there was held the reconstruction of the transport interchange at the entrance to the bridge on the Left Bank.
The bridge was named in honor of the well-known academician Evgeny Paton, who contributed a lot to the design of the bridge and died 3 months before the completion of his brainchild.
On the left bank the entrance to the bridge is decorated with two 20 meters columns, the right bank - propylons of the Doric order. The bridge became known also due to the beautiful scenery, which opens from the bridge during walks.