The construction of the Powder Tower, located in Lviv, dates back 1554-1556 years. The tower belongs to the monuments of military and defense architecture that existed during the Renaissance.
Powder Tower was of great importance in the fortification of Lviv during the existence of Rzeczpospolita and served to defend city from the north side. The tower was located behind the second line of city fortifications along the defense billow and was used as a store of gunpowder and ammunition, and in peacetime - for grain storage.
Powder Tower was built of the rough stone, the plan clearly shows its shape - truncated ellipse. Semicircular, three-story building, with wall thickness of 2.5 meters, had gone underground for nearly two meters due to raising the level of the soil around it for more than four centuries. Therefore, because of this natural phenomenon the contemporaries can not fully appreciate the architectural accuracy and clarity of the structure.
In 1954, the Powder Tower was restored. Five years later, in 1959, there appeared adorning above the entrance to the tower - figures of sleeping lions, and the very tower became the House of Architects in Lviv. In the days of the Soviet Union the plaster was removed from the walls of the building and there was discovered the original laying, making the building more valuable monument of architecture.