Construction of new bridges in Zaporozhye across the Dnieper River began in 1949. The author of the projects of the bridges was the famous Moscow engineer B.N. Preobrazhensky, in whose honour the bridges were named.
The project of the bridge across the Dnieper was supposed to be double-level bridge with 4 arches, on the top level of which there is a double track railway, and the bottom level is for pedestrians and vehicles. The length of this bridge is 560 meters, height - 54 meters.
The bridge across the New Dnieper is also two-level, but, unlike the first one it has only one arch. The uniqueness of the bridge at the time of construction is in a huge bridge span of 228 meters, which was considered virtually impossible in those days. Specialists from the United States called the draft of the second bridge impracticable.
Bridges of Preobrazhensky were put into operation at the same time, on December 31, 1952.
When building bridges, Preobrazhensky initially had the plan to use the piers of the Streletsky bridges, which were bombed by Nazis, in order to save money. But after cleaning the bottom of the Dnieper River by divers, there was revealed that this is impossible because the explosion occurred at a depth of 7 meters.
Construction of new bridges in