The Monument to the genius of Russian literature Alexander Sergeyevich Pushkin is situated on the Primorsky Boulevard of Odessa, in front of the building of the Odessa City Council (City Duma). The poet spent 13 months in this beautiful city. There are following authors of the monument: architect Kh. K. Vasilyev, sculptors Zh. A. Polonskaya and V. Reutov. Reutov made stucco moldings for the monument.
Pushkin monument was erected at the initiative of the former city governor Grigory Marazli. Accor-ding to the resolution of the City Duma it was found a site for erecting the monument on June, 1880. This site was located on the Nikolayevsky Boulevard. There was a new street in Odessa, which appeared at the same year – the Italian Street. Later it was renamed to the Pushkinskaya Street.
The building of the monument was financed by voluntary contributions of the citizens, whose names were recorded to the list in the city archive, existing until now. However, its building was constantly being put off by reason of a lack of money.The solemn laying the foundation for the monument took place just in 1887. There were the higher administrative authorities, representatives of the city municipality and a great number of citizens in that day. After finishing the official ceremony the citizens started making their voluntary contributions for erecting the Pushkin Monument with double energy.
The solemn opening of the monument took place in 1889. There were a lot of citizens in the ceremony. The epigraph, located in front of the monument, voices the following: “To A.S. Pushkin from citizens of Odessa”, and the epigraph, located from opposite side: “Was built in 1888”.
Another monument to A. S. Puskhin in Odessa was opened in 1999 on Pushkinskaya street.