Ukrainian Autocephalous Orthodox Church of St. Nicholas is located in Zaporozhye, in Khortytsky district, at the Yubileyny Prospect, 1a. The funds allocated for the construction of the temple were given by the director of commercial and industrial transnational company "Keramist", secretary advisor of the National Security and Defence Council of Ukraine Zusmanovich Dmitriy Markovich.
Ukrainian Autocephalous Orthodox Church (UAOC) is canonically unrecognized Orthodox Church in Ukraine and in the Ukrainian diaspora in North America and Western Europe. In the XX century the adherents of UAOC were pejoratively called “samosvyaty”. UAOC was founded in 1917 after the February Revolution as a result of the motion for the status of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church of "independence" from the churches of Russia and the government.
In 1919, the Directorate of the Ukrainian People’s Republic proclaimed the autocephalous of Ukrainian Orthodox Church, and in 1920 the group of priests proclaimed the Ukrainian Autocephalous Orthodox Church, despite the fact that according to the church laws it was impossible without the force of bishops.
Saint Nicholas Church in Zaporozhye was built in honor of St. Nicholas. St. Nicholas has always held first place after the Mother of God among the saints on the number of painted icons and temples dedicated to him. St. Nicholas is the patron saint of sailors, fishermen and tourists; since August 11, 2004, the Orthodox Church has celebrated "Birthday of St. Nicholas," and every Thursday the memory of the saint is honored by special chants.
The church of St. Nicholas in Zaporozhye has gained wide popularity among the parishioners of Ukrainian Autonomous Orthodox Church for a short period of its existence (it was built at the beginning of the XXI century). In the temple there are daily divine services, and on holy days in the church there are gathered a lot of Christians praying for the ascension of the Almighty.