Sevastopol (Autonomous Republic of Crimea, ARC) is a city of naval officers, a city where history breathes from every stone. St. Vladimir's temple or the Tombs of the Admirals (also known as Admiralty Cathedral) is one of the attractions in Sevastopol. The second name arose to avoid confusion with St. Vladimir's Cathedral in Chersonesus. Cathedral of St. Vladimir is located in the central city hill, like towering over the city. To climb to the cathedral you will overcome the multi-ladder. The effort will be payed off by beautiful views. If we stand back to the cathedral, it is possible to see almost the entire city from its square.
The history of the church goes back in 1825. In that year, Black Sea Fleet Commander Admiral Greig asked the Emperor Alexander I to begin construction of a monument to Prince Vladimir, who took baptism there on the ruins of the ancient city of Chersonesus. The positive decision was taken only four years later, in 1829. The project was developed and approved, but then Admiral Mikhail Lazarev, who was concerned about the small number of Orthodox churches in Sevastopol, intervened in. At his insistence, it was decided to build a temple in the city center.
Preparatory work began in 1848. In 1851, Mikhail Lazarev dies. Bearing in mind his Merit before the Motherland, it was decided to bury the Admiral’s body in the tomb, specially arranged in the cathedral. This became a tradition to bury large naval commanders here. Foundation laying of the cathedral began July 15, 1854, but the work was stopped because of siege of the city. During the Crimean War this vault was the burial place of admirals V. Kornilov, V. Istomin, P. Nakhimov. In 1862, after the cessation of hostilities the construction of the cathedral resumed. A new architect was Alexei Avdeev, who had radically revised the plan by Konstantin Thon. By 1881 the upper church was built, and by 1888, after the Avdeev’s death, the lower.
In 1931 the temple was transferred to the Company of assisting defense, aviation and chemical building. In the tradition of that time the sanctuary was desecrated. The Crypt was uncovered; the remains of Admirals were destroyed. The events of the Great Patriotic War left their mark on the front of the church (there you can see traces of bullets). In 1991 a special commission investigated the crypt and the church. The bones were found in brush. In 1992, they were solemnly reburied. Since the identification of the remains was not possible, disposal of the lower church (a total of 11) were united in a common tomb in the shape of a black marble cross. Names of the officers who had received the Order of St. George were written down on the inner walls.