Sumskaya Street, named Karl Liebknecht Street from 1924 to 1941, is the main street of Kharkov. It connects the Constitution Square with Gorky Park and Forest Park and then turns in the Belgorod Highway. The part of the street from Theatre Square to Dzerzhinsky Square is paved with stone blocks.
Sumskaya Street was constructed as the way to the city of Sumy in the second half of XVII century. The street was very short in the end of the XVIII century and ended on the place of the Theatre Square, where a defensive rampart was situated. Up to 1840 there had been located Mironisitskaya Church on the site of the Victory Square. Behind the church there was located the city cemetery that scared the citizens, because there were gathered many vagrants and criminals in its tombs and temples.
In 1852 there was opened the Sumy highway on the street, which carried out the regular transportation of the post and passenger coaches in Moscow; in 1883 there was launched the horsecar. In 1907 there was opened the modern Gorky Park, in 1946 there began to build the Victory Square. Since then the Sumskaya Street has been repeatedly reconstructed, repaired and restored.
The attractions on the Sumskaya Street: corner building in front of the thermometer and the Motor Transport College, Theatre of Shevchenko, Salamander, Mirror Stream, building of Kharkov Building Institute, monument to Taras Shevchenko, the Wedding Palace, the building of the Kharkov Opera House, house of Aladyiny, etc.