Ozerianskyi church in Kharkov was built in 1847 on the outskirts of the city (now the corner of 118 house). In 1874, the shrine was rebuilt and an altar was installed there. However, a service on Sundays and holidays has been held only since the end of 1880.
The building of the monastery, which also included the cemetery Church of All Saints, could not accommodate more than 150 people, which was not enough for the Orthodox citizens of Kholodna Hora. Moreover, for a long time the monastery was in poor condition and required substantial repair.
In May 1889, the church became the parish church, and came into the possession of the parish patronage. In 1890, diocesan architect Vladimir Nemkin requested a temporary extension of the church and creation of the plan to build a new monastery.
Archbishop Ambrose Kharkovskii approved a project plan, and on June 24, 1892 the construction of a new church began.
The missing amount of money was collected through private donations. The special auction was arranged: the most generous participant had the right to choose the name of the saint in whose honor the altar of the southern aisle was consecrated. Owing to the efforts of the priest Maksim Ponomarev, the construction of Ozerianskyi monastery was completed in September 23, 1901. That same year, the stone fence with iron bars were built around the church.
Designed by Vladimir Nemkin, the church was built of unplastered red brick in the Byzantine-Russian style. Semicircular apse of the main altar in honor of Ozerianska icon of the Blessed Virgin Mary is complemented with the side apses in the shape of trihedrons.
In front of the massive square church with a spherical dome there is a four-tier 40-meter bell tower, connected with the western porch. The church organically complements the silhouette of a high plateau of the Kholodna Hora. The shrine played an important role in the building of the western part of the city, as far as it was the main part of the landscape, which could be seen from the historic city center.
Later, the church was rebuilt by the project of a new diocesan architect Vladimir Pokrovskii.
In the land donated to the monastery by the farmers, there were two wooden houses overlaid with brick that belonged to the priest and the clergy.
On September 1, 1902, a parochial school was opened on the territory of the monastery. In 1914, there were 89 pupils.