The Old Kiev Mountain is one of the oldest historical centre of Kiev and is otherwise known as the Upper Town. The historians consider this place to be the spot where the various princes of Kiev conducted their rule. Judging by the notes, this exact place was the starting point when Prince Kiy established a city there in the 5th century. We know exactly who established the city with the help of the sign stone with the following words engraved onto it: “This is where the Russian land takes start”.
Vladimir Svyatoslavovich ordered the first Kiev Rus church to be built right here; it is now known as the Virgin Mary Church and has been constructed both by old Russian and Byzantine builders. This church is also known as the Church of the Tithes, which comes from the name of the tax the Prince used to collect from the citizens and donate to the maintenance of the church.
The first priest of the church was Anastas from Korsun. Unfortunately, in 1017 the church was destroyed in a fire. Currently the Old Kiev Mountain hosts the historic museum. Around the museum the historians collected the remnants of the pagan temple and other constructions. In the very centre of the ground you will find the famous sign stone.
The Old Kiev Mountain is a flat hill that has a lot of historically and architecturally significant buildings. Nowadays it is a place beloved by tourists and no one dares to alter the local beauty.