Dnepropetrovsk is situated on the Dnieper River and got the name from the river. At first it was originally named in honor of the Empress Catherine II (former name of the city is Yekaterinburg), and was conceived by Prince Potemkin as the third capital of the Russian Empire. Today Dnipropetrovsk is a major industrial and cultural center of the country, as well as the space capital of Ukraine. What places to visit in Dnipropetrovsk during Euro 2012? We offer you the best rating of Dnipropetrovsk attractions compiled by ua-traveling.
Holy Trinity Cathedral is located in the city center and was built at the place of the first urban church. This is the main temple of the city. It was established in the 19th century from the patronage donations of local merchants. At the time of Stalin's purges the church was closed, then reopened in 1941. Today the main shrine of church is Novokadakskaya icon of Christians Mother of God.
Holy Transfiguration Cathedral was founded in 1787 in the the Russian Empress by Catherine II, the construction lasted 50 years and ended only in 1835. The cathedral is completed in the style of Russian classics.
During the reign of Soviet power this place was thought of being devoted to Lenin monument. But academic Yavornytsky saved the cathedral, creating in it a museum of atheism. The Cathedral was renovated in 1992 and transferred to the Ukrainian Orthodox Church.
There are three churches consecrated to St. Nikolas in Dnepropetrovsk. One of them is the oldest stone church in the city, and is located in the New Kodak. Here are preserved murals of the late 19th early 20th century.
The second Nicholas Church, is known as the Bryansk Nicholas Church. By size and splendor is as big and beautiful as more famous temples of Dnepropetrovsk. Now it is the "Centre of Organ Music", which is protected by UNESCO. The third is located on the Monastic Island.
Today it is a theme park for residents and visitors of the city. In the XI century on the island was a monastery established buy Byzantine monks. We know about this because it is fixed that princes Olga stayed in this monastery to have a rest during her travel. In honor of Byzantine monks here was located a monument in the form of a cross. At the end of the 19th century at the island was built St Nicolas church. During Soviet ere here was a city park.
The temple was founded in the late 19th century in a pine forest in the north of the city, the site of the ancient city old city of Samara. The icon of Mother of God was created in Moscow and brought with a procession from Moscow to Dnepropetrovsk. The main temple is made of brick in the Byzantine style. Some icons of the temple are performed in the non-traditional form. Here for the fist time was used semi-precious Iranian pink onyx which was not used earlier in Christianity. Also here is a holy water source and a great sundial.
The palace was built by the Russian architect I. Starov for the founder of the city Prince Grigory Potemkin. Architecture and interior decoration have been partially well-preserved until our days. During the Soviet Union times in the building was located the palace of culture.
The museum of History was founded in the 18th century as the "Museum of Antiquities" and was placed in a room of the Potemkin palace. Today, the museum exhibits 7000 objects, including the relics of ancient Egypt and ancient Greece, Russian and foreign coins, paleontological remains, the Egyptian mummy of a woman with a child.
Dnepropetrovsk circus was created in the late nineteenth century. Then in 1980, by the design of P. Nirinberg was built the present building in the form of tent marquees. The circus is equipped with the latest light and sound technology. The auditorium is one of the largest in Ukraine and can accommodate about 2,000 people.
It was built in 1906-07 years in the classical style by the project of the architect F. Bulatselya. In 1927 it was given to the troupe of the Moscow Maly Theatre which stayed in Dnepropetrovsk.
Park named in honor of Lazar Globa was founded in the 18th century by the Cossack Lazar Globa in his own estate. After the ban of the Cossacks by Catherine the II, Globa park was transferred to the city authorities and was named Kazennyi garden (which means State garden). During Soviet times, the park was named after the famous pilot Chkalov. Here ware placed different attritions. The architecture of the park is partially preserved to this day. In the post-Soviet era the park was renamed to Globa Par.