Transfiguration Cathedral (Spaso-Preobrazhenskiy Cathedral) can rightly be called one of the most beautiful architectural structures of classicism. Currently, it is the central temple of Dnepropetrovsk Diocese of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church and the temporary seat of the diocesan administration. It crowns the place where Dnepropetrovsk began to be built, and now it is the historic city center.
The draft of the temple was developed and approved in 1786, but it was not to be implemented until 1835. In May 1787, Catherine has begun construction of the Cathedral: the Empress with G. Potemkin and the Emperor Joseph II of Austria laid the first stone of the future church. In 1830 there began the active construction of the temple, which lasted 5 years.
There were no accurate data regarding the identity of the chief architect of the cathedral before the XX century. However the detailed study of the archives of St. Petersburg found that the authorship of the draft of the temple belongs to Andreian Zakharov. Initially, G. Potemkin ordered to erect the church an arshin higher than St. Peter Cathedral in Rome, but the fires and predatory raids did not afford to fulfill his desire in life.
Transfiguration Cathedral has experienced many difficult years: from 1930 to 1988, there were no church services, and from 1975 to 1988 in the church there located the museum of religion and atheism. Today, religious services are conducted daily in the temple, and the Patron Saint’s Day is celebrated on August 19, in the Day of the Transfiguration.
On the territory of the temple there are located the burial places of the archbishops, bishops, and the archpriests. In 1941, on the courtyard of the cathedral there were brought the dead bodies from the nearby