The Park Vladimirskaya Hill (Vladimirskaya Gorka) is justly one of the most beautiful parks on the Kiev’s territory. The Park was founded in the middle of the 19th century: there is the Memorial to Prince Vladimir, the Kiev’s symbol, who made even at this place the Christening of the Kievan Rus according to the legend. The Park was called in such a way due to the Monument.
There were initially at this place the vinelands of the Mikhailovsky Zlatoverkhy Monastery, which couldn’t protect the ground from landslides. Even in connection with this natural phenomenon it was decided by local authorities to lay out the park here.
There was earlier the panorama “Calvary” on the park territory, which wasn’t preserved until the present time: it was destroyed in 1920. At present there are small sculptures, works by masters at the end of the 19th century in the park, the Ukrainian House in its southern part, a funicular in its northern part and the Monument to Prince Vladimir in its western part. The staircase, which goes to this monument, stems from the Vladimirsky descent (Vladimirsky Spusk), the upper terrace and the alley, located on the middle park terrace. In the 70-ties and 80-ties there was a famous city flower exhibition on the territory of the Vladimirskaya Hill.