• Google+
  • Facebook
  • Vkontakte
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
  • RSS

Map of Ukraine

View Larger Map

For today the map of Ukraine includes 24 administrative regions and the Autonomous Republic of Crimea, which are divided into 490 administrative districts. The country has 458 cities (two of them - Kiev and Sevastopol have special status, 177 - republican or regional subordination, and the rest - the district ones), 886 towns (dwellers are classified as citizens) and 28 544 rural settlements. In order to structure the representation of the sights geographically vast country and for convenience guide, tourist map of Ukraine may be conditionally divided into five areas (similar in the area, natural conditions, history and mentality of the population): North, West, Central, Eastern and Southern Ukraine. Northern Ukraine, where is the capital - Kiev, includes Zhitomir, Kiev, Chernigov and Sumy region with the total area of 114 500 km² or 19% of the country.

The structure of the Western Ukraine consists of the majority of administrative regions – eight ones (Volyn, Rivne, Lviv, Zakarpattya, Ivano-Frankovsk, Ternopol, Khmelnitsky and Chernovtsy) with the total area of 131 300 km² or 22% of the country.

The Central Ukraine is represented by Vinnitsa, Cherkassy, Poltava, Kirovograd and Dnepropetrovsk regions, covering an area of 132 700 km² or 22% of the country.

The Eastern Ukraine is the most industrial and densely populated region of the country - including Kharkov, Lugansk, Donetsk and Zaporozhye regions with the total area of 111 800 km² or 18% of the country.

Primorskiy area - the Southern Ukraine - includes the Autonomous Republic of Crimea, city Sevastopol, which has a special status and is a naval base of Ukraine and Russia, Odessa, Nikolaev and Kherson regions, occupying a total area of 113 400 km² or 19% of the country.

The current administrative-territorial division of Ukraine as a whole was formed in 1930-1950's, after the accession of the Western Ukrainian lands (1939-1945), the southern part of the rivers Dniester and Prut (1945) and the transfer of the peninsula of Crimea from the Russian Federation to the Ukrainian SSR (1954), it was formed within its present borders.

Interesting discussions about Ukraine at Ukrainian forum.